Namaste… and Canva

I’ve got to admit, I love those “random motivational quote with a pretty background” pictures that pop up all over Facebook.

That’s why, when I learned that I had the option of making one this week for my project, I was like, yessssssssss.

icecream

My little creation that could be used to introduce my blog series about yoga. So sunset. Very meaning. Much wow.

It wasn’t hard for me to decide what project to do this week, as I’m more of an artsy, hippie kind of girl than a quirky, creative comic book girl, but choosing Canva to create my masterpiece took some thought. In one of our previous modules, we were given the chance to explore some online tech tools, and one of the options I chose to peruse was Canva. The first time I interfaced with the site, I was a little confused by the purpose. What’s the point of creating a one-panel, non-interactive picture?

Plus, some of the options cost money, and I was like, nooooooooooo.

My second shot at using Canva was much more productive, as I now understand its purpose. Yes, no one is going to make literal masterpieces on the website, but it’s a good place to create cute little projects that serve to enhance a blog or advertise a business. Nothing revolutionary, but not all art has to be. Some art is fine with just existing, and making the world a more beautiful place without any effort.

Canva could be used in my future classroom as a sweet little addition to projects. Now, I know that visual appeal isn’t a major issue in a science project as much as correct information is, but I’ve always been the type that likes everything to be pretty. A science report could be prefaced with a Canva creation, or I could include one before presenting notes. I don’t quite see how this website could be used in a major way in my future classroom, but hey, creating a little more beauty in the world is a minor thing that could have major implications on the overall well being of the world. Plus, presenting information in an attractive visual format could help students retain information better, as they mentally tie a picture to a piece of knowledge. Who knows?

All I know is that Canva makes a little more beauty in the world, and a little more beauty can make a lot more difference.

3 thoughts on “Namaste… and Canva

  1. Like you I love those quotes. It is always fun to see new cute ones and find ones that go perfectly with a feeling your experiencing. Now I can create my own! HOW COOL! I think this will be great for the classroom to get kids to make a connection!

    Like

  2. I’m a lot like you! I love the quotes that I see on Facebook and Pinterest because they always seem to fit life perfectly at that moment. I also agree that these sites could be used with projects to make them more interesting and give them that little extra flair that makes them personal. Students would have a lot fun making these too. I would like to learn more about these sites so I can be an expert when I use it in my classroom.

    Like

  3. I learned so much from this weeks assignments. It will be important for us to teach our students to use the available technologies. The trouble is that there are so many choices. I enjoyed using piktochart. I thought that one was very user friendly and handy to create with. Thanks for your post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

